Woot!  Woot!  Celebrating the little things – I am now 1/4 of the way through this marathon training experience!  So far I am still feeling strong and confident.  My mileage is slowly but surely increasing, however, I have yet to run further than I have before.  It’s coming for me though and I’m a little nervous about it.

I’m naturally a competitive person when it comes to athletics and running has been a great outlet for me.  Nevertheless, I’ve noticed how easy it is to get caught up in times, splits, pace, etc.  While these things are important and help challenge and track my training, I don’t want to lose my sense of peace and joy for running.

There is a happy balance I am working to find between caring and not caring.  I have goals, I want to be pushed, and I want to get better.  However, I also want to enjoy my training, not despise running by the time I get to my marathon and be proud and feel good about the effort I put into this experience.

Some days I focus on the clock and other days I focus on having fun.  We all have goals we want to accomplish (fitness, school, career, etc.) and I believe it’s important to learn to thrive in the process of reaching those goals instead of just killing yourself to get there.  It makes life a whole lot less stressful and a whole lot more enjoyable.

I encourage YOU to take a honest look and evaluate your journey to the goals you want to accomplish.  Are you feeling tense, stressed, frustrated, and overwhelmed?  Or are you appreciating the experience and thriving in it?

IMG_2139

Week Three

Monday: 5 miles – regular run + resistance training

Tuesday: 6 miles – fartlek run

Wednesday: 5 miles – regular run + 60 min hot yoga

Thursday: 60 min spin class

Friday: 10 miles – long run + 60 min hot yoga

Saturday: Crossfit

Sunday: rest day

Week Four

Monday: 35 min elliptical + resistance training

Tuesday: 8 miles – intervals

Wednesday: resistance training + 60 min hot yoga

Thursday: 5 miles – regular run

Friday: 60 min hot yoga

Saturday: 11 miles – long run

Sunday: rest day

 

