I am SO happy it is FINALLY socially acceptable for me to listen to Christmas music, wear Christmas clothing, decorate for Christmas, and have endless amounts of Christmas cheer..even though I’ve been doing all of those things for awhile now ๐Ÿ™‚ ย Along with this joyous Christmas time usually comes the beginning of the cold months. ย I honestly do not mind the cold as long as I’m prepared for it aka big fluffy coat, warm mittens, scarf, and a toasty hat. ย I have no shame in doing what I gotta do to stay warm! ย I also thoroughly enjoy coming home for lunch or dinner and being able to have a HOT bowl of yummy goodness. ย That is why I made this huge crock pot full of healthy chicken potato soup. ย This stuff is seriously the bomb.com. ย I felt like I was eating comfort food BUT it’s healthy!! ย Not to mention it makes A LOT of soup which will last me all week (great for busy people) and is SO easy to make because.. hello crock pot ๐Ÿ™‚

potato-soup-2

Ingredients:

4 Slices of Sliced Bacon or Turkey Bacon

1 Large Chopped Onion

3 Minced Garlic Cloves

3 lbs Peeled & Thinly Sliced Russet Potatoes

1 1/2 lbs Boneless Skinless Chicken Breast

2 c Sliced Carrots

2 c Sliced Celery

8 c Chicken Broth

1 t Dried Thyme

1/3 c Fresh Chopped Parsley

1 1/2 t Salt & 1/2 t Pepper

Instructions:

  1. Cook bacon in a skillet over medium heat until brown then add onions and garlic. ย Cook for 3-4 minutes until softened then pour mixture into crock pot.
  2. Place the chicken on top of the onion mixture and add the sliced potatoes, carrots, celery, chicken broth, thyme, salt, and pepper. ย Place lid on top of crock pot and cook on high for 7-12 hours, stirring occasionally, until potatoes are soft. ย (After 7 hours I turned the crock pot on low and let it sit for another 1.5 hours to ensure the potatoes were extra soft but the chicken wouldn’t burn. ย It depends on your crock pot for how long it will take.)
  3. Remove chicken from the crock pot and shred or chop.ย Vigorously stir the soup or use a potato masher to break up the potatoes and make the consistency thicker. ย Add the chicken back into the crock pot along with the parsley.
  4. Stir well and enjoy ๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

 

For original recipe and instructions visit:ย http://www.aspicyperspective.com/healthy-slow-cooker-chicken-potato-soup/2

 

