It’s Friday, almost Thanksgiving Break, and my 22nd birthday!  I know it may sound lame or pathetic for me to make my own birthday cake (trust me my roommates fought me for it) BUT I love cooking and baking!  This was basically a present to myself and an opportunity to try out a new Gluten Free, Refined Sugar Free, Vegan, & Raw dessert. 🙂 I’m sure many of you reading this probably think that does not sound appealing at all BUT stick with me here because it tasted DELICIOUS!  This Chocolate Carmel Pecan Cake is a clean dessert made up of all whole foods.  This does not mean that it has no sugar or tastes like cardboard…it is full of NATURAL sugar and flavor!  I HIGLY recommend it for any upcoming holidays, birthdays, or celebrations!

cake-3

Ingredients:

For the Cake:

1 C Pecans

1 C Dates (pitted)

1 t Vanilla Extract

2 T Cacao Powder

For the Carmel Sauce:

3/4 c Dates (pitted)

1 t Vanilla Extract

1/2 t Cinnamon

1/2 t Nutmeg

2 T Melted Coconut Oil

Water (as needed)

For the Topping:

Handful of Pecans

Cinnamon

Nutmeg

Instructions:

  1. Start with the cake layer and use a food processor to grind up the pecans into small crumbs.  Add the dates, vanilla extract, and cacao powder into the food processor and grind until the mixture sticks together.  Press the mixture into a spring form pan, making the outsides slightly higher in order to pour the carmel in the center.  Place in the fridge for a few hours or over night.
  2. When the cake layer is ready, begin making the carmel sauce by mixing the dates, vanilla extract, cinnamon, nutmeg, and coconut oil in the food processor.  As you process the ingredients together you can add water as needed (I used about a cup) until it becomes a carmel consistency.
  3. Pour carmel into the center of the cake and drizzle on the sides if you wish.  Top the cake with some sprinkle of cinnamon & nutmeg and pecans or other nuts of your choice.  Enjoy!! 🙂

cake-5

For original recipe and instructions visit: http://www.onegreenplanet.org/plant-based-recipes/raw-vegan-chocolate-caramel-pecan-cake/

