I’m going to take it back to my childhood today with this jump rope workout.  Jump roping may seem like it’s only for children or boxers but it is such a great workout!  I love jump roping because it’s portable, fun, and burns a lot of calories in a short amount of time.  Ten minutes of jump roping is about the equivalent to running an 8 minute mile!!!  Jump roping is a great way to switch up your workout routine and there is so many different things you can do with it!

This workout is more of a HIIT style workout.  I performed each move for 1 minute followed by 10 seconds of rest.  Complete 3-4 rounds total.  You can adjust the interval times to match your fitness level!

I encourage you to push yourself as hard as you can so you can get that heart rate up as much as possible.  Don’t worry or become discouraged if you mess up!  Keep persevering and working hard!

Two Feet Single Jump

2-feet-single-jump

 

Single Leg Jump (30 sec R, 30 sec L)

r-foot              l-foot

Skipping

skipping              skiping-2

Skis

skis              skis-2

Scissors

scissors              scissors-2

I ended my Jump Rope HIIT workout with a finisher of as many double unders in a row as possible.  For those of you who don’t know, double unders are when you jump and the rope goes under your feet twice.  These can be hard to learn at first but once you get the technique down they are KILLER.

jumprope-selfeie-2

If you would like to see a video of each of these exercises check out my Instagram account: food.fitness.funn

