I know what you’re thinking..homemade tomato sauce?  Who has time for that?  Believe it or not..you do!  This recipe is bomb because all you do is cut some stuff up and throw it in the crock pot!  Seriously THAT SIMPLE!  Plus it makes a nice big batch of tomato sauce that you can put in the freezer and use for the next three months on whatever your heart desires!  Homemade tomato sauce gives you another way to avoid processed food and added sugar that is so often present in store bought sauce.  Plus YOU get to decide what exactly YOU want in your sauce and what YOU want going into your body.  So give it a try folks, it’s worth it!

Ingredients:

12 Vine Ripened Tomatoes

1/2 Onion

1/4 c. Fresh Parsley

10 Basil Leaves

2-3 Garlic Cloves

1/2 t Thyme

1 t Oregano

Salt and Pepper to Taste

tomato sauce ingre.jpg

Peel and chop the tomatoes.  Chop the onion and parsley leaves.  Mince the garlic cloves.  Measure out the spices and basil leaves.  Put everything in the crock pot and cook on high for at least 3 hours.  You can cook for longer if you want the flavor to develop even more.  If the sauce seems thin add 2 t of corn starch to thicken it a little.

crock pot.jpg

I originally did not blend any of my ingredients but I would recommend it if you don’t want your sauce to be chunky.  I decided after a couple hours to blend everything for just a couple seconds to make it more smooth.

sauce on pizza.jpg

And viola!  Now you have a delicious tomato sauce with all whole ingredients on hand ready to use!  I used mine recently on a healthy flat out pizza I made in the oven and plan to use it in recipes to come 🙂

P.S. Yes that is a Christmas apron and yes I am wearing it in September. I can’t help myself!

 

For the original recipe and instructions go to:

Easy Crock Pot Tomato Sauce

