For those of you who don’t know HIIT stands for High Intensity Interval Training.  During HIIT workouts you go all out for short bursts of time followed by short recovery periods.  HIIT workouts don’t take a lot of time but definitely make you sweat.   They are good for keeping your heart rate up and burning a larger amount of calories in a shorter amount of time.

There are many different forms of HIIT you can do!  Sprinting, jump roping, biking, burpees, box jumps, stairs, rowing, etc. are all exercises you can use for HIIT workouts.  Your fitness level will determine what intervals are good for your HIIT workouts.  You can very easily individualize it for you!  For example, you could do 30 seconds of box jumps followed by 15 seconds of rest or 20 burpees followed by 60 seconds of rest or 100m sprint followed by 30 seconds of rest.  You then repeat that interval for a certain number of rounds or time.  The options are endless!

I usually do HIIT workouts twice a week, occasionally three times a week.  Since it is something I do frequently so I like to mix up the types of exercises I do.  I made up this stair workout for my HIIT session this morning.  It was challenging, fun, gave me an excuse to be outside, and I never got bored!  Adjust it to your fitness level and goals and give it a try!

going-up-stairs

30 seconds of work followed by 15 seconds of rest

  1. Single Steps
  2. Double Steps
  3. Squat Jumps
  4. Side Step (x2 for each side)
  5. Two Foot Hops
  6. One Foot Hops (x2 for each foot)
  7. Toe Touches

REPEAT 2 more times for a total of 3 rounds

For a video of each movement check out my Instagram account at:  food.fitness.funn

